Obsession: So You Think You Can Dance

To those that know me personally, it’s really no shock to them that I love to dance. Yeah, I’m totally that person that will get up off the couch and dance around the room if there is even a chance of good music on tv, be it a commercial or movie. A little obnoxious I know. No judgement here 😉 

Why do I love to dance? Oh well it might have something to do with the fact that I have danced for the majority of my life. Ballet, that is. My mom put me in classes at a very young age and after other outlets crashed and burned (sorry bout that little stint in gymnastics, mom. I just don’t like to be upside down!!), Ballet was my thing. Oh the crazy pictures I could post from back in the day. We’ll save that for another post entirely. 

File:So You Think You Can Dance.svg

Getting back on track: So You Think You Can Dance (SYTYCD). I must admit that I only started watching about 4 seasons ago, during the 5th season. I was completely hesitant to watch for a pretty poor reason which turned out to be a TOTAL MISCONCEPTION. You know when you love something so much that you hate to see it not done well? Any singers out there whose eardrums bleed during the audition episodes of American Idol? Well that was me during the auditions for SYTYCD. Mind you, I never even ONCE turned on the tv to watch! I just had this preconceived notion that it would be the same and I couldn’t bring myself to watch. I was imagining the William Hung’s of the dance world. Ahem. Yeah, bad choice on my part. Turns out I LOVE THIS SHOW SO MUCH. (do the caps get the point across? I hope so) 🙂 I can’t speak for the early seasons of the show, but the audition rounds that I have seen have blown me away, with a little humor thrown in for good measure. 

SO MUCH in fact that my husband took me to the Season 7 tour when it came through our neck of the woods. Yes, I screamed along with the little teenyboppers there. And then bawled during a few of the dances. What can I say? Dance touches something special in my soul. 

Needless to say, I’ve been glued to my couch for the past few weeks watching the audition episodes roll in. There may have been a little dance party in my living room after each one. The undiscovered talent never ceases to blow me away. One small gripe? It seems as though if a contemporary/hip hop/crumper dancer blows them away, they don’t hesitate to put them though. On the other hand, if a dancer with a  specialty like Ballet or Belly Dancing or Tap comes through, they very rarely send them straight to Vegas without requiring choreography at the end of the day. It did happen this season, but that has appeared to be the exception from what I have viewed these past few years. Give Ballet a chance! 😉 

See? Alex Wong, a ballet dancer, tearing it up with Twitch in one of my all time favorite dances. Oh yeah, he’s awesome. I saw him in Newsies on Broadway a few months ago-still amazing. 

 

One thing that I am incredibly grateful to SYTYCD for? For reigniting my passion to dance. I lost that flame inside about 6 years ago. I quit and didn’t look back, enjoying my new life with no rehearsals, no aching feet, and all this extra free time. Or so I thought. I realized that I missed it SO much about 3 years ago and have been working my way back towards dance ever since. Granted I’ve had some road blocks in my way, but dance will always be a part of me and I can’t wait to get back in the studio on some sort of a regular basis. For now I’ll just settle for dancing in my living room. Dance Party, anyone?

Leave a Reply

