If you have….

{Thank you for visiting my blog today via the Noonday Collection Ambassador Blog Train! If you would like to read yesterday’s post, click here. And be sure to show some love to tomorrow’s blog as well!!}

You wake up to the sound of your alarm and hit snooze a few times while snuggled in your warm bed. Once you awake, you stumble your way to the kitchen to start the coffee pot. You might sit down and read the newspaper or have some quiet alone time before your children awake. For once they are, it is an endless day of school, activities, homework and errands. Once your day is done, you make dinner for your family or maybe swing through the drive thru and pick up a quick meal (hey even super moms need a break too!).  You tuck your precious kiddos (or yourself) into bed and get ready to repeat it all over again the next day.

What you may not realize in your day to day activities, no matter how stressful they may seem or your burden heavy……………

tumblr_kzs506d3v31qzrr0co1_500

“If you have food in your fridge, clothes on your back, a roof over your head and a place to sleep you are richer than 75% of the world.

If you have money in the bank, your wallet, and some spare change you are among the top 8% of the world’s wealthy.

If you woke up this morning with more health than illness you are more blessed than the million people who will not survive this week.

If you have never experienced the danger of battle, the agony of imprisonment or torture, or the horrible pangs of starvation vou are luckier than 500 million people alive and suffering.

If you can read this message you are more fortunate than 3 billion people in the world who cannot read it at all.”

Learning these facts about my own life, well it was a bit sobering.

After that, my big question was WHAT can I do to change this? First of all, education is key! To be completely honest, I knew that people lived in poverty all over the world and in our own country, but I didn’t know just HOW pervasive it was. To quote Maya Angelou, “When you know better, you do better.” Documentaries such as “Half the Sky” {watch on Netflix} and books such as The Locust Effect, Orphan Justice and Three Cups of Tea are all great ways to expand your knowledge of what goes on around the world on a daily basis. {All links are through Amazon Smile, which gives 0.5% of your purchase total to the charity of your choice…for free!} One of the next steps you can take is changing some of your purchasing habits, by buying fair trade or ethically made items.

How I decided to help? I became an Ambassador for Noonday Collection.

2014Spring1_RGB_WEB

Noonday Collection uses fashion and design to provide economic opportunity for the vulnerable. Ambassadors create marketplaces in their community and the artisans benefit by receiving a fair living wage for their work. What does this mean for them? They can enjoy all the seemingly little things that we take for granted.

Like Hagare, who can now pay for her HIV medication. {click on the picture to expand}

Hagare_Ethiopia

Like Renal, who is rebuilding after Hurricane Sandy stripped his Haitian community clean.

Renal_Haiti

And like Ruby, who can now pay for her children to go to school.

Ruby_India

Noonday Collection allows our artisans to rise above their circumstances, provide them with stable income, break free of their caste, and what may be the most important thing, keep their children. Many children around the world become orphans due to the extreme poverty their family is subject to. By purchasing our artisan’s handiwork, you can help prevent the orphan crisis from growing.

In honor of Noonday Collection’s Spring line launching recently, I’m giving away a pair of our Golden Locket Earrings! These are made with love in Peru by one of our newest artisan groups led by the talented Fermin! You can read more about his incredible and stunning work here.

EA094FE-Golden-Locket-Earrings-s

To enter my giveaway, please click over to my Facebook page to enter via Rafflecopter.

Thanks for visiting my blog and don’t forget to follow along on the train tomorrow here!

7 thoughts on “If you have….

  1. My husband and I are cutting out unnecessary extras and living on a tighter budget so that when we make purchases we’re able to make fair-trade ones, and donate to ministries that champion social justice and liberate the oppressed. That sounds lovely but often means going without that absolutely-adorable-want and giving up fun extras like to-go coffees and renting dvds, etc. Denying the unnecessary stuff to fund what’s important!

  2. I am going to prioritize! My God. My marriage. My children. Everything else. I am also going to spread the Noonday message as best I can. I’m unable to be an ambassador right now, but I’m going to be the best non-ambassador you’ve ever seen!

  3. my word for the year is peace…which is difficult to foster and focus on when you have two young kiddos under the age of 5. BUT, I want my home to be a place of peace. for them, for guests, for my friends. seems kind of self-serving in a way, but I think it really makes a difference when I walk into someone’s home who I describe as peaceful. It ministers to me, and I want to do that for others, too. thanks for the chance!

  4. Living my change right now! From selfish to selfless! We open our home and lives up to inner city youth that are desperately in need of a strong christian family modeled to them!

  5. I grew up poor by US standards. I’m sure we would have been considered well off by the truly poor people in other countries. As a result of this I tend to live an indulgent lifestyle. I know that I don’t need all that I have and I’ve been trying to make a change. I’m buying less and giving more away. What I do buy, I buy locally and used if possible. I’ve come to learn the importance of words like living wage, fair trade and social justice. I read the stories and see the faces. I think the most important change that I’m making right now is to educate myself. Look beyond my own bubble. Remove my rose-colored glasses if you will.

  6. My husband lost his job recently & we are taking the opportunity to downsize our house, simplify our lives & free up more time & money to say YES to God. To have more margin in our time so we can say yes to unexpected things & people that cross our paths. Excited to see where He calls us next!

Leave a Reply

